Region of Southern Denmark receives recognition for excellence

As a result of the Call for Reference Sites 2019 launched in June 2019, a total of 77 regional and local organisations have been awarded “Reference Site” status. Among these are three Danish Regions. One of them receives the highest recognition for excellence.

77 European Reference Site organisations have demonstrated the existence of comprehensive strategies to advance innovation and to understand and address the challenges of delivering health and care services to the ageing population. 

Three of them are Danish: Region of Southern Denmark, Centra Denmark Region, and Region of Zealand. 

They successfully bring together a wide range of stakeholders based on a "Quadruple Helix" model that includes representatives from industry, civil society, academia and government authorities at a regional and local level. 

These collaborations drive structural change far beyond the scope any one particular organisation could achieve on its own. They help to create an environment for other regions across Europe to learn, transfer and adapt knowledge to local realities, with regional, social and economic development as the long-term objective. 

The Reference Site status has been granted to organisations who have shown excellence in the development, adoption and scaling up of innovative practices for active and healthy ageing. 

Special recognition for excellence

For the first time, as a result of the peer-review and expert review process in the 2019 Call, six 4-star Reference Sites have been awarded a “Certificate of excellence”. 

These Reference Sites include: The Region of Southern Denmark, Basque Country, Andalusia, Catalonia, HANNN (Netherlands) and Scotland. 

The Region of Southern Denmark has participated in the European Innovation Partnership for Active and Healthy Aging since 2012 and has been a 4-star reference site since 2016. 

The award as “Certificate of excellence” is a recognition of the regions outstanding work in driving regional innovation in active and healthy ageing. The region work continuously to improve the quality of life of the ageing population, making health and social care delivery more sustainable and stimulating economic growth and competitiveness. 

However, this is only the beginning. The European Innovation Partnership (EIP) on Active and Healthy Ageing (AHA) provides a framework for continuous improvement and involvement of new relevant stakeholders to enable any Reference Site to maintain and further improve its status. 

The process for making progress as a Reference Site incorporates an improvement tool which Reference Sites can use to identify gaps and opportunities for improvement, as well as develop an implementation plan. This allows Reference Sites to continually challenge and benchmark themselves to ensure they are at the forefront in strategy and policy development - and therefore contributing to the economic growth in their region and across Europe.

Centra Denmark Region has 4 stars and Region of Zealand has 3 stars.

See a list of the awarded Reference Sites 2019




Karen Lindegaard

Senior Consultant

Welfare Tech

International cooperation, Cluster development, Business development

T: +45 2461 1931


Skype id : karen.santos.lindegaard

Supported by

Welfare Tech is​ co-financed by the Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science and The European Regional Development Fund.

WT hjemmeside 580b.png